Sans Morality

drinkin’ beers, bangin’ sluts

Dr. Funke’s Songs of the Week

Posted by DrFunke on July 7, 2009

This will be a weekly post from me, the good doctor. Maybe good isn’t the best word but you follow me. Anyway, I’m spending a lot of time in New York City this summer (*smells own farts*), which means I spend a lot of quality time on the Subway with people who look like circus freaks and smell like their own urine, or people who seem to be a walking anti-tattoo PSA, or, fittingly, some women who make me go from 6 to midnight in a heartbeat. There’s no way I’m going to talk to any of these assholes or lovely ladies, and that means I’m getting a lot of mileage out of my iPod. In these posts, I’ll put up a few songs that I’ve been listening to lately. This will be entertaining for a few reasons: my fellow bloggers will just berate the fuck out of me in the comments section. My music choices will confuse the hell out of you because I have music taste that’s oddly varied but simultaneously extremely specific and generally makes about as much sense as this sentence. If I can promise one thing, it’s that few of my choices will be current or relevant, but then again I think they’re awesome so blow me. Hopefully I’m better at this than I was with my “Links of the week” deal, because that one lasted about 2 weeks. Without further ado:

1. “Little Secrets” by Passion Pit: This song is really poppy and really electronic and hooky, and I always hate stuff like this. Then again, I loved those 3 MGMT songs, and this song is the same sort of style.

2. “Gold Lion” by the Yeah Yeah Yeahs: Watch the video. Jesus it is weird. On the bright side: slow motion, fire, guitars getting smashed, and a solid rock song with nonsensical lyrics.

3. “Massive Nights” by The Hold Steady: I love this band. Their singer basically just talks and sounds a little drunk (which makes sense because they have a bunch of songs about getting wasted), and the band is heavier than you’d expect. *Note: the video isn’t great quality, presumably because it was filmed in Wisconsin and there were too many fat people. Doesn’t make sense? Ask me if I give a shit, fatty.

Leave a Reply

 
